Blogging in local Languages

As my blog is India centric and i see a lot of bloggers including me writing local languages using devnagri in English script, i get kinda saddened. Frankly i cant blame these folks because trying to type say in Hindi or Marathi for that matter is extremely time consuming and irritating and a sheer torture, because the keyboard placements are a mystery to most humble souls. But Priyank, the net गुरु, showed me the way of the the master blogger and communicator who uses multiple languages to effectively communicate with all audience.

For the desi blogger , i recommend BARAHA . Baraha is a word processing application for creating documents in Indian languages. It is developed with an intention to provide a free software to enable and encourage Indians use their native languages on the computers. Baraha can be effectively used for creating documents, sending emails and publishing web pages. Baraha 7.0 supports Kannada, Devanagari, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Gujarati, Gurumukhi, Bengali, and Oriya scripts.

For most people the IME is just a fine tool and the whole application need not be downloaded. And best of all you type just like u type out normal stuff so no searching for the र or प or whatever character u want.

By that i mean if u want to say  मेरा नाम रामू  है . u type ‘mera nam Ramoo hai.’ THATS IT

So folks go ahead and use it, and rest assured ull simply love it.

8 thoughts on “Blogging in local Languages

  1. Yes I have used Baraha and found it to be the easiest of all methods. Unfortuntely I wanted to type the whole of Madhushala (my fav poem). For this, I didnt have patience, at all. But I will take this as a reminder and post a blog with a few lines from it. Its the best thing I ‘ve ever read in Hindi poetry.

  2. बापरे..! To be featured on YOUR blog, I feel like a star now. But this post of yours is prompting me to write an overdue post about enabling Indic language support in Windows XP.

    Please do

  3. I dunno man, I prefer to type hindi and kannada in english only.. .”mein kutta hoon!” or something like that… baraha is so confusing! 😀

Leave a Reply

