Ugly aur Pagli

From the first glimpses and rushes this Movie Ugly aur Pagli from PNC directed by a newcomer  Sachin Kamlakar Khot, featuring  Mallika Sherawat and Ranvir Shorey seems to be a xerox copy of the South Korean Blockbuster Superduperhit – My sassy Girl.This is not the first time bollywood looked east.

Now Mallika is no stranger to remakes as her claim to fame movie Khwaish was also a cut and paste movie taking scenes from many a teen comedys, most notable among them from which the condom scene was lifted was Private School featuring the very hot Phoebe Cates.

What you should expect?

Either a decent light hearted romantic comedy or a very bad copy of a very cool film  but most likely i think it is  the second option .

Links Ugly Aur Pagli – The Official WebsiteImdb link

the Amrekan remake recently released

What i would recommend

Skip it for the original – trust me – My Sassy Girl is priceless, that to coming from a person who is no fan of love story’s.  link to trailer

My sassy girl (original) is a romantic comedy about a  guy dominated by a girl who he is hopelessly in love with, partly based on the true story told in a series of love letters written by Kim Ho-sik, a man who initially posted them on the Internet and later adapted them into a novel. The film was directed by Kwak Jae-yong.

25 thoughts on “Ugly aur Pagli

  1. U should see the original, i have it and it was well worth the effort to acquire it
    just hope it is not another bad copy like partner, etc

  2. The day when the bollywood stops copying other movies, they might start copying blog posts to make movies.
    I dont think they will ever STOP !.

  3. The only Mallika Sherawat film I watched and liked was’ Pyar ke side effects’. I am a big Rahul Bose fan and watched the film because I thought he would make an interesting pair with her. Mallika did a good job in the film. ‘Ugly aur Pagli’ I might watch, if I will watch, it will be for Ranbir Shorey.

  4. Well Prerna – id rather watch my sassy girl a zillionth time – ill wait for nitas or amits review before wasting 3 hrs on it

    xylene I got irate fan mail today loaded with a lot of profanity for writing this post – mallika sure has her loyal fanbase

    And the funny bit is that the whole story for my sassy girl started wt a blog post by its writer Kyun-woo who posted his love letter online !

  5. Oh god not Mallika Sharmamat again!!!!.I HATE every single movie of her’s!!!!.Can’t believe people call her a sex bomb!!!!!.I just can stand her fake attitude and everything fake about her!!!!LOL

    By the way the film God Tusi Great Ho staring Salman Khan and Amitabh Bachan is a scene by scene copy of Bruce Almighty

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_almighty

    They have even copied the suit that Morgan freeman has worn (Morgan Freeman plays god in this movie)!!!!

    And as usual the director/producer will use the term “Inspired” when people ask them about the film being copied

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/God_Tussi_Great_Ho

    When will Bollywood come up with something original???.Half the films/songs released are copied sorry I mean “Inspired”

  6. Well this maybe related to the sky high ticket fairs and recession driving people to pirate dvds

    No wonder they find safety in repeating formula of a successful hollywood movie
    formula that has worked once may not work the second time !

  7. Ok, I don’t get one thing about all you people cribbing about Bollywood lifting ideas or making xerox of foreign movies. Copying the foreigners is all our Entertainment industry ever learnt to do anyways so why should our film makers be any different. We copy every damn thing, TV shows like zabaan sambhalke, Ji Mantri ji, Jassi jaisi koi nahi, reality shows – KBC, Paanchvi paas, N number of talk shows inspired by the likes of Larry King live, this whole concept of ‘Breaking news’, even our Blog ideas are copied, they hav a blog critic we have a desi critic, they have a Insta pundit we have a Desi pundit. Our great musicians from SD Burman to RD Burman to the most verbally abused Anu Malik and not so abused Pritam everybody is a damn copy cat, so what is so uniquely and extra criminal about lifting films???

    Heck, why entertainment industry our socio political structure is also copied, the Indian Legal system, the criminal jurisprudence, the police system, bloody hell the Constitution is a copy of American, Irish, French and other Constituion. etc.

    Few in the country would know about the Korean film and rightly so, so what is wrong in making a desi adaptation of it and showing it to the local junta. Not everybody is as elite as you are to be aware of or interested in a Korean film. Not every Indian cine goer is of such international standard as you all are. And not everybody can grab a Korean DVD. So why preach…to stay away from the desi?

    Every elite is talking about how Mallika is so below the mark in comparison to the original Korean actress (I don’t even know who she is) but no body said anything about the Korean actor of My Sassy Girl. Is he also way better than Ranvir Shorey. He has to be I guess, simply because he is not.

    It’s also very funny when you say, Now Mallika is no stranger to remakes as her claim to fame movie Khwaish was also a cut and paste movie

    It’s not Mallika’s problem if the movie script is lifted or copied, she is an actor not the script writer or director or producer. And she is not Aamir Khan either so she has no more responsibility than doing her job as an actor. How ridiculous is it to associate her name with copied movies.

    BTW do you know even Sholay was a copy of some foreign film. So how does it matter really.

    For all I know, PNC only ended up generating more revenue for the makers of My Sassy Girl, that is if elite pick up the original DVDs.

  8. that was a big comment

    first i dont mind copies but they better be good that too when u have seen the original
    secondly i had even put a caveat that it may very well be good
    im not masand who doesn’t see the original still bashes the ugly.

    on Now Mallika is no stranger,
    hey even Rani has done a few bad bad xerox copies like the leone copy , so agree mallika is nt alone,
    so i fully understand ur point of view but i don’t particularly adore Mallikas acting and she never publicized / was never publicized for her acting skills as much as she did of her kissing and slapping . But as a person i like hr frank attitude even though it is slightly over the top but her choice hardly brings out her talent.

    If u didn’t know sholay like many others was copied from 7 samurai or Shichinin no samurai – a Kurosawa masterpiece
    But nonetheless it was a great Indian copy shomething i enjoyed even after seeing the original.

  9. Prax, you didn’t really get my point regarding Mallika. All I said was that script being copied is not Actor’s problem, unless you think its the actor’s moral duty to refuse the offered script if he/she knows its a copy. You went off track talking about Mallika’s acting capabilities, when did I even go there?

    Nevermind.

  10. @sanjukta

    I totally agree with you on the point that its not the actors fault for taking part in a film thats a complete rip off . But I fail to understand how you can call the film as good….I am not comparing it with the original.The desi version comedy is totally goofy and silly!!!!!.Different people have different tastes so u will have to respect.

    And as per the comment on we “Elite” people……well I general like to call a spade as a spade only and not something else.If I don’t like a movie I will say it sucks even if there is Amitabh Bachan or any other big star in the movie.And who said we stay away from desi movies.There are very few desi movies that are actually really good (Eg Kabul Express but minus John’s acting,Chak de,Mr. and Mrs Iyer,15 park avenue etc..) but they don’t get any attention just because they are no “Item” songs or some other sort of skin show or if there is no famous star cast.

  11. @sanjukta

    I totally agree with you on the point that its not the actors fault for taking part in a film that’s a complete rip off . The Movie Ugly or Pagli comedy is totally goofy and silly!!!!!.Different people have different tastes.I found the movie crap so I call it crap.

    And as per the comment on we “Elite” people……well I general like to call a spade as a spade only and not something else.If I don’t like a movie I will say it sucks even if there is Amitabh Bachan or any other big star in the movie.And who said we stay away from desi movies.There are very few desi movies that are actually really good (Eg Kabul Express but minus John’s acting,Chak de,Mr. and Mrs Iyer,15 park avenue etc..) but they don’t get any attention just because they are no “Item” songs or some other sort of skin show or if there is no famous star cast.

  12. Hardly a few Hindi copied films are good.The best copy I have ever seen is Teen Deewarein.Really good acting by Naseeruddin Shah

  13. what a conv
    sanjukta – I UNDERSTAND UR PT OF VIEW posted it before and agree that it isnt the actor but the scriptwriter producer and director who are to blame
    my logic is simple
    TICKET IS not CHEAP
    DIRECTING BAD – ACTING BAD – Heroine is a LOUDMOUTH – STORY A PATHETIC XEROX COPY— I will call it a bad movie and hope people see the original

    Xylene – I fully agree 😉
    but this is a first a ardhnari supporting copies / remakes so religiously

    Ameya u put it very nicely
    Thanks buddy for backg me up and for ur wonderful comments 🙂

  14. @Ameya / Prax

    We digressed again. Now to the digressed points.

    “Different people have different tastes so u will have to respect”

    Absolutely. For instance, to me while Mr and Mrs Iyer was a pure classic 15 Park Avenue was quite clueless and boring, it went on and on for no reason and then suddenly ended. While all the critic showered flowers on ‘Jaane Tu’ I could hardly keep myself awake in the theater. The damn film had a horse in every frame. I hated ‘Devdas’ loved ‘Partner’. I liked Saawariya a lot too but everybody said it was boring.

    So I am certainly not the one who is saying don’t call a spade a spade. If I were, I wouldn’t have publicly said I liked UAP so much coz I know I am going against the popular verdict here.

    Ameya, you said, But I fail to understand how you can call the film as good.

    I find it very strange that you could aske me how can I call it good. I have my reasons of course and it’s not my problem if you don’t agree with my reasons. I just hope you still respect them.

    I fail to understand a lot of things too…like why did the countries Bongs watch a Devdas. What made Dil Chahta Hai a new age film, it had so many cliches in it, orphan girl marrying guy for ‘ahsaan ka bojh’ to begin with. This can go on and on.

    Point is by all means please call UAP a crap, I couldn’t care less. I never debated upon the quality of UAP in any of my comment anyway. I was only talking about the copying of film ideas considered as the greatest crime etc. but nevermind really.

  15. The movie is a remake of “my sassy girl”. A complete remake. every thing is a carbon copy. I liked the Korean movie more than Ugli and pagli. This movie is a real boring after watching “my sassy girl”.

Leave a Reply

